Public Holidays in Hungary, 2017

Public Holidays in Hungary, 2017

Now that Good Friday will also be a public holiday starting on April 14 this year, let’s summarize which days are official national holidays in 2017 and which are popular days of observance. 

Lawmakers voted for the measure to make Good Friday a national holiday on Tuesday. The proposal was approved by 163 votes in support and 2 abstentions, which presents a super majority from a total of 199 members of parliament.

Accordingly, Easter will be a four-day holiday from this year and there will be a total of 11 holidays that can fall on working days, including January 1, March 15, Good Friday, Easter Monday, May 1, Pentecost Monday, August 20, October 23, November 1 and December 25-26.

The following table contains a summary of national holidays and other important days that are widely observed in Hungary. (You may note that Mother’s day falls on the first, not the second Sunday of May.)

DATE WEEKDAY HOLIDAY NAME HOLIDAY TYPE
Jan 1 Sunday New Year’s Day National holiday
Mar 8 Wednesday International Women’s Day Observance
Mar 15 Wednesday 1848 Revolution Memorial Day National holiday
Apr 14 Friday Good Friday National holiday
Apr 16 Sunday Easter Day National holiday
Apr 17 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
Apr 22 Saturday Earth Day Observance
May 1 Monday Labor Day / May Day National holiday
May 7 Sunday Mother’s Day Observance
Jun 4 Sunday Pentecost Sunday Observance, Christian
Jun 5 Monday Whit Monday National holiday
Aug 20 Sunday Saint Stephen’s Day
/ Hungary National Day
National holiday
October 6 Friday Martyrs of Arad Memorial Day Observance, Historic
Oct 23 Monday 1956 Revolution Memorial Day
/ Third Republic Day
National holiday
Nov 1 Wednesday All Saints’ Day National holiday
Dec 6 Wednesday Saint Nicholas Day Observance
Dec 24 Sunday Christmas Eve Observance, Christian
Dec 25 Monday Christmas Day National holiday
Dec 26 Tuesday Second Day of Christmas National holiday
Dec 31 Sunday New Year’s Eve Observance

NO COMMENTS

Leave a Reply